They Shall Know Us by Our Love

If there is one thing I will take away from this trip to Africa so far, no matter where you go, a man or woman who is desparately in love with Jesus Christ pervades the sweet smelling aroma of Christ. When I met Joeseph Mpute Murero and Daniel Manjo, I had no idea that these two men, one a housekeeper and another a waiter at our hotel, would touch my spirit in a way that only the body of Christ can. 

Daniel came up to me while I was sitting alone at breakfast reading my Bible. He was picking up the table after all of us had eaten and I could tell he was looking at me. I looked up, and he had this huge, broad smile and said to me as he pointed to my bible, “very good.” I would find out later that among the 40 people we met with at the hotel a couple nights later to talk about Sex, God and Me, Daniel was the only one who had a bible. The day after we spoke with all the staff at the hotel, Daniel came up to me and handed me a piece of paper with three verses:

 Micah 7:7 “Therefore I will look unto the LORD; I will wait for the God of my salvation: my God will hear me.”

Luke 10:20 “Notwithstanding in this rejoice not, that the spirits are subject unto you; but rather rejoice, because your names are written in heaven.”

Acts 16:25 “And at midnight Paul and Silas prayed, and sang praises unto God: and the prisoners heard them.”

The last verse struck me as a read the rest of the story in Acts 16. The joy, passion, and faith of these men we met in Africa had something so akin to the faith that you see in Paul, Silas, and the other Christians in Acts.

Joeseph, Meg’s housekeeper by the providence of God, was a man of Faith unlike any I’ve met. When Meg told us we were going to speak to a bunch of Masai people who worked at the hotel I was a little leary. When I found out we were not going to have Dr. Moses Pulei, our former Masai warrior turned seminary proffesor, to help translate, I was downright discouraged, but this man Joeseph knew what he was doing when he called us to the meeting with all the staff. The time ended up being one words can hardly describe, the Lord provided a wonderful translater, another housekeeper, Ferdinad, who had the smile as broad as any I have ever seen, and blessed us and hopefully the many Masai people who showed up to hear what we had to say. Joeseph had started the church gathererings with the staff with only three men, but after much prayer and fasting, he had grown the gathering to were nearly the entire hotel staff was attending. One of the most remarkable things about this was that Joeseph did not have a Bible. Maybe one of the greatest things I have gotten to do so far on this trip was to give Joeseph my New King James Bible. The night after we met with all of them, Joeseph came over to our room and shared with us the word and prayed with me and Alex. I can’t tell you how wonderful it is to have a man of a God like Joeseph pray over us.

I have been humming to myself the last few days the song that goes: ‘We are one in the spirit, we are one in the blood. We are one in the Spirit, we are one in the blood. And you will know they are Christians by their love, by their love.’ Joeseph, Daniel, and many of the other Christian men and women we have met here in Keny have showed us this truth. Be praying for us as we go to teach a church here in Nairobi on tuesday before we leave. I can not tell you how thankful and grateful I am for the prayers of each brother and sister in Christ. They have cleared a path for us and have certainly strengthened each one of us in our time over here.

God bless you all,

Sam Turner

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

